About CWAM
Advanced Riding
Events Diary
Joining & Costs
Post-Test Training
Social Activities
Test Passes
Who's Who
 Facebook Page
CWAM Clothing
Data Protection
Contact Us


IAM RoadSmart Qualifications


The IAM provides two riding qualifications covering four grades

IAM Advanced Riding Certificate

This is a 75 to 90 minute practical riding test with an IAM examiner and includes a full brief and debrief.

 IAM Advanced Riding Certificate FIRST

This higher level grade is awarded to those candidates that achieve a score of 1 (the highest score) in 25 out of the 27 skill categories (including a score of 1 for legality & slow riding) when taking the IAM Advanced Riding Certificate. Members that have achieved a pass in the Advanced Riding Certificate can attempt to upgrade to a FIRST by retaking the IAM Riding Assessment.

Full details of the Advanced Riding courses are on the IAM website -

IAM Masters Certificate

This qualification represents the highest civilian riding qualification in the country. It takes 90 minutes. A competent verbal knowledge of the IAM book on Advanced Riding, the Highway Code and the police Roadcraft book is expected. The test is conducted by an IAM Staff Examiner. A mark of 70% is required for a pass.

IAM Masters Certificate Distinction

This is awarded to those that achieve a mark of 80% or above when taking the IAM Masters Certificate. For further information please contact one of CWAM's training team Ian Collard or Paul Lewis. 

Full details of the Masters programme are on the IAM RoadSmart website -


Email Andy Spencer CWAM's training officer for further details.

CWAM - run by bikers, for bikers. 
Coventry & Warwickshire Advanced Motorcyclists are an Official Provider of IAM RoadSmart Courses 
CWAM is registered under the Charities Act, no 1056844. Affiliated to the IAM RoadSmart (Registered charity No 249002)